Vitamin & Mineral Absorption

Dot T.
on 10/2/11 5:46 pm - Bartlesville, OK
 Is there a diagram anywhere that shows what part of the digestive tract that certain vitamins and minerals are absorbed?  I tried to search it and thought I found one, but the link was broken :-(

I'm asking not only out of my own curiosity, but my father-in-law is currently taking chemo for stomach cancer and after his chemo he will be having his entire stomach removed followed by more chemo...

Thanks in advance to anyone who can help me.

Dot
poet_kelly
on 10/2/11 6:07 pm - OH

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Dot T.
on 10/2/11 6:17 pm - Bartlesville, OK
 wow, cool!  Thanks!

My father in law was told that because of no stomach he will have to have b-12 injections for life.  I think that he could do sublingual.....

I do fine with sublingual, but I do have a *bit* of my stomach still in use, where he will have NONE.  What do you think?

Dot
poet_kelly
on 10/2/11 6:24 pm - OH
He should be able to do a sublingual, or the nasal spray, if he doesn't want to do injections.

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Dot T.
on 10/2/11 6:23 pm - Bartlesville, OK
 How come B-12 is shown to be absorbed in the section of the ilium which isn't by-passed?  I thought the reason we have to take sublingual b-12 was because the part that absorbs b-12 was bypassed?