new on my journey

lovelybones11
on 10/27/11 11:27 am
I am getting close to scheduling my surgery. But the closer I get, the more nervous I get. I just recently found out that because of my extreme morbid obesity, I am going to be required to do another procedure where they will go thru my neck and put some type of strainer in my stomach which is to catch any blood clots that may form. Does anyone know anything about this?
tee t.
on 10/27/11 11:49 am

Are you sure the "strainer" will be in your stomach and not your carotid artery?

Those are inserted to prevent a stroke.  

You need to have a face to face with the doctor (cardiologist?)  who is oing this procedure or your surgeon and have a thorough understanding of what they are planning and why.

IF this is a step to prevent a stroke, it sounds like a good idea.

But, honey, I am not a doctor and do not play one on the internet.

Ask questions until you get answers you understand from those hwo know your medical history and the plan for your surgery. We can only guess and that is not good enough.

best

t

JIB 1986
revised to RNY 2004
plastics 2004,2006, 2009
lovelybones11
on 10/30/11 12:31 am
Thanks T
Hislady
on 10/27/11 2:13 pm - Vancouver, WA
I had this done because I have a clotting disorder, it was easy and painless. It is a vena cava filter that goes in the vein to stop any clots from getting to your heart or lungs. It was an easy out patient procedure where I was sedated and asleep but not as strong as anesthesia. I had a tiny band aid on my neck after, no big deal. Be sure to get it taken out about a month after the surgery or when your doc tells you to as they can also clog up over the years and cause problems. It was really a very simple procedure.
lovelybones11
on 10/30/11 12:33 am