what nobody warned me about

Jackie
Multiplepetmom

on 12/3/11 12:07 am
On December 3, 2011 at 6:00 AM Pacific Time, GreenGardener wrote:
 I gotta take issue with this.  I don't think I lack in social skills.  I am a therapist, run a successful business, do public speaking to groups of 400 or more, and have done so for the past 30 years.  I have friends, a great husband (who married me at 220 pounds), and not nearly enough time to keep in touch with the people I care about.  It is probably helpful that I wasn't overweight during my formative years, so I had the opportuntity to develop socially without the burden of feeling ostracized due to excess weight.  But I am a formerly overweight person, and yes, I can compete with the tight bodies when it comes to social skills.  In fact, I think that the experience of being overweight has led me to develop social skills that I might never have developed otherwise.  Since I could not rely on being "beautiful" for much of my adult life, I was forced to get out there and find genuine relationships not based on appearance.  That, I believe, has served me well.  
 beautiful post!

once upon a time I had a group to talk about Binge Eating Disorder, and later one about Clean Eating.

PM me if you are interested in either of these.

size 8, life is great

lady_myst
on 12/2/11 6:22 am