New and looking for support

TawnyaWebb
on 4/21/12 5:45 am - Spokane, WA
RNY on 08/07/12
 I am new and looking for support. I have been researching the RNY for several months. I finally went to a wls informational seminar the 5th of this month and decided to go to the support group the doctors office offers as well. Yesterday I got the call that I meet with the surgeon for the first consultation which will be an hour long. I am looking for support here online besides the support group they have at the office. I am 5'2, 266 pounds with a bmi of 48.7. I have decided to go RNY because my sister had the lapband and has gained weight back. I see her eating ice cream and I do not want to be able to do that, I want to be held accountable for my actions and my insurance will not cover the sleeve. Please friend me and help with support along my new journey.
----Tawnya
poet_kelly
on 4/21/12 5:58 am - OH
Most people with RNY can eat ice cream, you know.  About 30% of RNY folks have dumping syndrome if they eat too much sugar, but they can still eat small amounts of regular ice cream and lots of no sugar added ice cream.  But most RNY folks could eat a lot of regular ice cream.  Hopefully when you meet with the surgeon, he or she can explain more about how RNY works - and what it won't do for you.

I had RNY and lost almost 150 pounds and I think it's a great surgery.  It's just important to understand what it will and won't do for you.  A lot of people seem to think it will force them to make good food choices, and it doesn't do that.

Come on over to the RNY forum.  You can learn a lot there and the people there are really nice and supportive.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly