A warning from my long strange journey

Cheryl_H
on 7/21/12 3:43 am - New Castle, VA
Hello all.

I haven't posted for a long time, but there is something I really feel like I need to share with everyone about the pitfalls of gastric bypass surgery.

I am almost 3 years out.  My surgery went very well, there have been no complications.  I have been maintaining goal weight for about 1 1/2 years, my last labs were perfect.  The surgery has resolved my type 2 diabetes, my hypertension, my high cholesterol.  I am wearing sizes I have only ever dreamed of.

Sounds great, doesn't it?

Well, there has been some recent attention to the risk of alcoholism being greatly increased in gastric bypass patients.  I am here to tell you to pay VERY serious attention to this warning, whether you are pre-or post surgery.

Within 2 years of my surgery I was in a locked down detox ward and rehab.  I had always enjoyed drinking, but the minute I picked up a drink after surgery I headed toward full-blown alcoholism.  My last year has been a constant battle with this demon.  I am only 7 days out from the last bout of hideous withdrawal symptoms as I speak.

Alcohol notwithstanding, I have faced a whole new plethora of mental conditions and compulsions since my surgery, including excessive spending.  My emotional life is a mess.

I am not wishing to frighten off anyone from the surgery, that is not my intention.  After all, it saved my life. I have NO regrets about the decision to have it done. I am sure many of you are mentally healthy people for whom this will never be an issue.

But if your obesity is in part a manifestation of some deeper issues, I urge you to pay careful attention to the psychological aspects of this process.  I had heard the warnings, but my excitement about the solution to my lifelong obesity eclipsed any seriousness I had to approaching my mental health.

Do NOT hesitate to get help if you need it.