vitamins

happymomma307
on 7/27/12 1:33 pm - OH
This might be something I should discuss with my Dr. before changing but I keep reading all these posts about chewable vitamins and I'm curious about this because I'm currently taking a bunch vitamins, a prenatal w/iron ( suggested by my nutricianist), biotin, b12, calcium w/ d and a chewable vit c, but the only chewable is the vit c. Am I not getting all the benefits of these because they aren't chewable? I had RNY on May 31.

poet_kelly
on 7/27/12 1:51 pm - OH
According to the ASMBS, we absorb vitamins that we swallow just fine.  It's more a matter of personal preference.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Dave Chambers
on 7/27/12 2:15 pm - Mira Loma, CA
FYI, the only chewable vitamin my surgeon strongly is against is vitamin C.  It takes the enamel off of your teeth.  Chewables tend to be pricey compared to pills or capsules, but again, it's a personal preference.  Many surgeons recommend chewable or liquid vitamins for the first 3 months, but you can do ok with pills.  B12 should be sublingual for best absorption.  Do NOT take your calcium and iron at the same time--you won't absorb your calcium well.  I would highly suggest a dry D3 supplement as low D is an issue for many post ops.  DAVE

Dave Chambers, 6'3" tall, 365 before RNY, 185 low, 200 currently. My profile page: product reviews, tips for your journey, hi protein snacks, hi potency delicious green tea, and personal web site.
                          Dave150OHcard_small_small.jpg 235x140card image by ragdolldude

happymomma307
on 7/27/12 3:13 pm - OH