Hi.. I'm new..

JustMeNC
on 3/7/13 2:58 pm - NC

this site was highly recommended to help me review the Sleeve vs Full Gastric bypass (RNY I think its called) .. I'm really not following the flow of the forums though, so not really sure, 1, if I'm even posting this in a forum, or answering someone elses post by accident, and 2, knowing how I'll find this if anyone happens to answer.. :(   Can someone direct me to the forum that best would help me with  my situation?

As far as for me, I have been debating for a few years if I could 'handle' giong through with surgery for weight loss, and NOW I am finally ready.  My Dr's office assured me the procedure is covered, and I should have no problem getting approval.  I am hoping to have my surgery June 12, my birthday present to myself :)    

Thanks so much in advance!

Valerie G.
on 3/7/13 9:15 pm - Northwest Mountains, GA

Welcome to the site.  

As long as you have your email address loaded in your personal information, you'll get an email whenever someone replies directly to you in this thread, or others.  This thread you created is known as "The Main Board".  If you look up to the Forums menu, you'll find boards dedicated to different procedures, states, and even hobbies (not very active though).  I recommend looking at the forums for the RNY as well as the Sleeve (VSG).  Another procedure you may want to investigate is the duodenal switch, which is the most powerful and most complicated, but yields the best results.  You may have to get another surgeon for that one, though, for there aren't nearly as many doing it.

Valerie
DS 2005

There is room on this earth for all of God's creatures..
next to the mashed potatoes

MsBatt
on 3/8/13 8:15 am

The are four basic procedures, although I honestly can't recommend the LapBand---you're pretty much guaranteed a second surgery when the thing wears out. (The manufacturer admits it's lifespan is about ten years.)