Can gastric bypass patients be vegetarians or vegans?

jaifra78
on 2/12/14 8:17 am
RNY on 04/16/14

I am very interested in both of these diets.  I am not really sure how it would work after the bypass or if its even possible. If It isnt possible to be a vegan than I at least would want to be a vegatarian. anyone with input is welcome thanks :)

Grim_Traveller
on 2/12/14 8:22 am
RNY on 08/21/12

Of course it's possible. You'll just have to study and work a little harder to make sure it works, at least at first, but many do.

6'3" tall, male.

Highest weight was 475. RNY on 08/21/12. Current weight: 198.

M1 -24; M2 -21; M3 -19; M4 -21; M5 -13; M6 -21; M7 -10; M8 -16; M9 -10; M10 -8; M11 -6; M12 -5.

poet_kelly
on 2/12/14 8:44 am - OH

i hope it's possible because I've been a vegetarian for almost 30 years and I had gastric bypass five years ago!  Of course it's possible.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

jaifra78
on 2/12/14 9:16 am
RNY on 04/16/14

what did you eat right after sugery and can you give me a list of foods that would be good thanks

poet_kelly
on 2/12/14 9:20 am - OH

Well, the first week I was on full liquids, and I had protein shakes, yogurt, sugar free pudding and sugar free jello.

The second week I was on pureed foods and I had mashed potatoes, unsweetened applesauce, refried beans and ricotta cheese with spaghetti sauce on it.  Plus the stuff from full liquids.