Starting my journey

Poohkieboo
on 3/19/14 11:16 am

Hi Everybody, I'm going in for my orientation for WLS Tuesday. I'm so scarred I'll be making the wrong decision. I need to lose about 110 lbs. I've come close to my goal weight a couple times before but have always gained it back. Now I need to have knee replacement surgery in the next couple years due to severe arthritis and it's difficult to walk. I'm older now (52) and it's a lot harder for me to lose weight. My dr. won't even think of the knee surgery till I'm under a 35 BMI. I'm at a 42 now. How did you finally make the decision to go ahead with your WLS? I really could use some support. 

luxurycouture
on 3/19/14 11:38 am

Hit here! I am a newbie in this process too! I went to an orientation seminar today and it was very informative and quite interesting! 

My first appointment with the surgeon isn't until April 24th. If all goes well and I get all of the approval from the insurance company and doctors, I will absolutely go through with it. I have struggled with obesity for my whole life and I feel that getting the surgery is my only hope to better my quality of life and avoid weight related health issues as I get older.

You have to do what is best for you, but attending an informational seminar is a great first step!

Best of luck! 

Life is what happens to you while you?re busy making other plans. ?John Lennon

Poohkieboo
on 3/19/14 11:50 am

Thank you so much! Best wishes to you too 

Sunlitcbreeze
on 3/20/14 12:30 am - Wareham, MA

Good Morning,