Newbie, PCOS

sabs
on 4/2/14 9:40 am

Oooh crossing my fingers for you!!!   It sounds like it will be quite the journey and I'm just beginning.  I'm hoping if it comes down to it and I do get the surgery, my tastes will change as they have for so many other people....I wouldn't even mind if I got some dumping syndrome to punish me for tempting myself haha.  That's really the only unhealthy thing about my diet because I rarely eat fried/fast food, I just like pasta and bread.  And HATE feeling hungry!

Keep us updated about your progress!  Have you had any luck with the supervised weightloss?

DelilahJO
on 4/2/14 10:20 pm

Sabs, I will keep the forum updated :) I have had some success with the supervised weightloss but not as much as I had hoped! And I have seriously been trying so hard! We have all but cut out fast food and dining out. I cut my diet soda down to 1 can per day. Drastically cut breads and pasta (my biggest weakness as well) and for not a lot of result. My husband has lost more weight from these changes in our home than me. Which is a bit discouraging. However with a light at the end of the tunnel (surgery) it has helped me to stay focused and not give up because hopefully within 2mo when/if my surgery is approved it will be worth it and on my road to a new life. Also idk if you are of child bearing age but a big thing they have told me is that once the surgery is done you have to double up on birth control because all the weight loss and hormonal changes can cause some good fertility, being I had to have fertility meds to even have both my children I wouldn't have even thought about actually being fertile. I had a tubal ligation after my baby so it's not my worry but something you should be aware of :-) 

sabs
on 4/3/14 10:00 am

That's a good tip!!  I'm 33 but I have NO desire for children so I'll keep that in mind!!!