Wound vac?

Shaysilva
on 4/6/14 5:18 pm

Hey everyone, I'm new to the sight.... I am 26 years old... Weighing 240 lbs and just had a c-section nearly 6 weeks ago, my 2nd one... The first went great... Healed in 6 days on the outside... This time not so lucky... My water broke at 34 weeks (feb 27) and my son was born that night, they covered the incision with regular gauze... The next day the wound nurse came down and placed this new covering on me called a "peco" I later found out it qualified for this because I am considered "clinically obese" the device is supposed to help keep out infection and help circulation, bad side u can not see the wound... If anyone has had a csection, you know 6 days post op you see your OB and they remove staples or evaluate the wound etc... 4 days post op I spiked a fever... Went to ER and OB opened stitches, and out came pinkish fluid... My fiancé said about 12 oz... I wasn't admitted that night... Was told to see my OB the next day who took one look at me and admitted me... Fresking me out with stories of flesh eating bacteria... I was a mess... I had given myself a burn above my incision (area was numb after csection, placed heating pad on it, fell asleep...lovely 2nd degree burn) anywho I was admitted march 6, started on antibiotics every 4 hours... Bled dry pretty much... My veins were destroyed... Culture came back positive for MRSA... I was petrified... But the drs were confident it was caught early and with surgery and meds I would be okay...got a debridement surgery march 7... I was horrified having never been put under... They cleaned me out, fixed my fistua which had been affected by the infection...and gauzed and covered me up... 2 days later I had another debridement but this time I woke up attached to a wound vac... Even though I was never tested during my pregnancy for diabetes, my weight and family history my dr made me monitor my glucose levels which were all normal including my a1c test... But because of where the cse