Anti-inflammatory drugs

Robin
on 4/13/14 6:23 am - Walled Lake, MI

Hi,

Does anyone know what anti-inflammatory drugs a WLS patient can take?  I know NOTHING with aspirin or stuff like Motrin or Aleive.

I need to take something but afraid of ulcers, been there and done that...got 6 units of blood and never again!

Thanks,

Robin

poet_kelly
on 4/13/14 6:28 am - OH

WLS patients are no more likely to get ulcers than non-WLS folks from NSAIDS.  The issue for RNY patients, though, is the risk of ulcers in the blind stomach.  You don't mention which WLS  you had, but if you had RNY, or if you are particularly at risk for ulcers for some reason and want to avoid NSAIDS, the only other anti-inflammatory drug would be steroids.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Robin
on 4/13/14 6:32 am - Walled Lake, MI

Thank you, it seems I have very bad arthritis  and I need something..Tylenol isn't helping.  I  had RYN in 2003.  I did check with my doc and he recommended Celebrex which I am allergic too.

Thanks for your help

poet_kelly
on 4/13/14 6:32 am - OH

Since Celebrex is an NSAID, I would not take it anyway.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

MsBatt
on 4/13/14 11:53 am