quitting smoking prior to surgery

greekgirk1027
on 12/30/14 10:27 pm

I am wondering how long before nicotine will not show in lab workif you smoke a pack a day. 

November18
on 12/30/14 10:46 pm
VSG on 11/18/14

I don't know if it shows in lab work. I had to blow 3 carbon monoxide tests before surgery. I quit In July had my first test in September and I was fine. Apparently you always blow some carbon monoxide. Anything under a 5 passes. I blew 2's.

Bonnie

greekgirk1027
on 12/30/14 10:51 pm, edited 12/30/14 10:51 pm

I was told no nicotine can show in labs or blood work. But i have no idea how long it takes for nicotine to be gone from our body. Congrats on quitting smoking and on ur surgery. I can not wait. 

poet_kelly
on 12/31/14 1:23 am - OH

Ask your doctor how long before surgery you should quit smoking.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

November18
on 12/31/14 2:52 am
VSG on 11/18/14

I never would have quit smoking if it wasn't for wanting this surgery. I really loved smoking. I know. That sounds sick. Hopefully, I will succeed with this weight loss and then I'll be glad I rid myself of two major health risks! It's hard, but I'm trying to stay positive. 30 lbs in 6 weeks but I miss my cigs, my food, & my wine!! I'm a totally different person!

Bonnie

greekgirk1027
on 12/31/14 8:03 am