Increased cholesterol

stacyrg
on 8/4/15 9:39 am
VSG on 05/12/14

I am 15 months post surgery and down 130 lbs. My cholesterol numbers, which were perfect before surgery are now extremely high (they have tripled since my pre-surgery blood draw). Has this happened to anyone else?  If so, any advice you can offer would be appreciated. I'm trying to avoid medication if at all possible. Thanks in advance!

Kathy S.
on 8/4/15 10:34 am - InTheBurbs, XX
RNY on 08/29/04 with

Hi stacyrg,

Have you talked to your doctors?  What do they say?  

I am not a doctor but I do know some have this issue due to hereditary  and not just what you eat?  You didn't mention what surgery type you had and it's not posted on your profile.  

To reach out to those that had the same surgery as you, post this on your surgery type forum.  Here are some links:

Duodenal Switch Forum (DS)
LAP-BAND Forum
Revision Weight Loss Surgery Forum
Roux-en-Y Gastric Bypass Surgery Forum (RNY)
Vertical Sleeve Gastrectomy Forum (VSG)

Please keep us posted on how you are doing

HW:330 - GW:150 - MW:118-125

RW:190 - CW:130

stacyrg
on 8/4/15 10:58 am
VSG on 05/12/14

My surgeon and Primary care doctor are working together on the problem but as of now they have no definitive answer. My primary care is concerned that the increase is my body's response to an extended low carb diet so we are trying a higher carb diet for 4 weeks with a re-test after that. I had VSG in May, 2014. I trust my doctors completely and know they will find a solution I was really just asking if anyone else has experienced a cholesterol spike after surgery.  Thanks again for any input!!!

Tracy D.
on 8/4/15 12:31 pm - Papillion, NE
VSG on 05/24/13

I had normal cholesterol prior to surgery too (although my "good" cholesterol wasn't as high as they wanted it to be).  Now my good cholesterol is off-the-chart good and my overall cholesterol hangs out around 220 - and they would like to see it under 200.