Insurance road block 1 day before RNY surgery....

leannaw
on 1/28/16 2:51 am

I go in on Friday morning for my RNY and I just realized that I know longer have a "met" deductible which means Kaiser is going to want $2,600. I wouldnt freak out so much but my bank account is missing a zero! Has anyone had this sort of road block with Kaiser or another insurance company? Will the hospital turn me away after all this time, effort and money? I have a care credit card but I am pretty sure the limit is $350... Thanks in advance for your comment.

LA5767
on 1/28/16 4:32 am

I am a newbie here, and have picked up a few things, The best thing you can do Is contact your insurance company.  With Mine there is a designated persons for weight loss that are over educated with the Companies ins and outs, it is strictly based on what type or level of insurance you carry with them. 

Sadly I have to confirm, every year your deductible begins again...So I learned when I started this process back in October 2015 that with being a new year my costs would be deductible plus the co-pay....so you should truly call your Carrier right away........

Here's to hearing all the right answers and a Magic Zero appearing in your bank account!!!

If not there is a company called Care Credit, Google it, Basically its a Credit Card for Situations like this... Fingers Crossed.

Lynne

supershopper
on 1/28/16 4:48 am

Talk to your insurance and the hospital. It would be the hospital billing you not the insurance. Ask the hospital what is the minimum you can pay and then just pay that. Mine tried to charge me $4500 before they performed the surgery. I paid $500 and then they did it. Thats not to say I still won't get a 4000 bill from them.

Do you have an Health Savings Account from your employer that you can pay from? A credit card isn't ideal but if you you could make monthly payments to them until it is paid off. With interest of course.

HW 305 SW 278 Surgery weight 225 GW 160 LW: 118.8