Should I hire a lawyer?

DonnaMaria
on 4/3/16 1:40 pm

Okay, on January 5th I went to the ER aspect my surgeon due to pain around the lap band area. They did emergency surgery. A week ago I got a letter saying they wouldn't approve the surgery due to the fact that the doctor was out of network. He isn't so I wasn't too concerned. Yesterday I got a letter saying they are denying my claim due to the fact the surgery wasn't medically necessary and that I am responsible for payment. Apparently it has already gone through the peer review and was denied. My only option is to appeal. I truly don't understand how it is on me? I didn't tell the doctor to take the band out! 

So what do you all think?

Cheremiste
on 4/3/16 2:33 pm

Hello: I work as a nurse reviewer for an insurance company. 

Generally speaking, out of network emergency care is covered by many insurance companies. Are you sure the provider was in-network? I would suggest doing a search on your insurance's website under their "find a doctor" area; most companies have a search function on their websites that let you find a provider. Find the provider's name and see if they're currently in network. Remember: sometimes insurance companies don't update their websites all the time and someone who looks like they're in network may not be. It also depends on the plan you have. Just because you have Company X as your insurer, you may have a policy under which this provider is NOT in network, and someone else under Company X may have this provider in their network because it's a different plan.

Definitely do an appeal. The letter you received should have given you instructions on how to appeal. You may have to call the customer service line and have them walk you through the exact steps. Get the provider who did the surgery to provide all the medical records about your case to the company.

Good luck,

cheremiste

39 y/o woman | Height 5'11"| SW 301 | CW 233 | GW 175

DonnaMaria
on 4/3/16 2:46 pm