Is WLS covered under the FMLA (Family & Medical Leave Act)?

Karen37
on 4/24/06 1:44 pm - Anchorage, AK
Hello! My name is Karen, and I am still pretty new to the site. I will have surgery on May 22nd, 2006, but I am not yet 100% sure of all my dates since I also need pre-op testing and a vena cava filter placed. It says that I am supposed to tell them as soon as I am sure of the dates, but I am not sure yet, so I am waiting to tell my employer. I am a teacher, and my workplace only gives us 3 combined personal/sick days per year. Due to the kids always getting me sick, I am at about 7 days this year, and have doctor's notes for each absence. I will need to take 5-6 days (not WEEKS!) off the last week of school to get WLS surgery. I have to get it done during "summer break," but have to do it a bit early due to my surgeon taking a vacation and my husband being deployed for the Air Force in June. I hope to recuperate most of June in order to enjoy *some* free time in July (school starts the first week of August). Can they fire me if I miss these days, or give me any grief? I have asked for leave without pay in the past, and have been told that "this is not an option here." I am stressed out enough over the surgery, and this is really worrying me. I love the kids and teachers at my school, and don't want to leave. Since I am at a charter school, we have no union. Does anyone know about whether this surgery is covered under the FMLA? I looked on the website, but it says that you can be granted leave without pay: "to take medical leave when the employee is unable to work because of a serious health condition." I might just get a note from my surgeon to back me up. Has anyone else had an issue with this? Thank you for taking the time to read my post and help me out. I really appreciate everyone on this site - this is such a great place! Love, Karen
Pamela Harris
on 4/24/06 1:52 pm - Elk Grove Village, IL