Newbie from Dallas, TX

SassySenior
on 10/14/11 10:05 pm - DALLAS, TX
I am 65, and at high risk with a high BMI  & co-morbidities, including arthritis and diabetes, etc. I have been studying wls for 10 years. I have Medicare now and can get the surgery. I'm going with the Lap Band. I'm on the pre-op diet, and have lost 25 pounds in 3 months.

I live in Dallas and have chosen the best surgeon in the Southwest, but I am thinking of changing because his office is quite far away. So now I'm looking for the 2nd best surgeon. I'm a member of at least 5 groups to get a balanced view. They range from gastric bypass to lap-band to hard core fanatics who hate the surgeries and have had horrible experiences. I have a lot of links and information for anyone who wants it.

I would love to hear from anyone who can relate to me.
acbbrown
on 10/15/11 3:41 pm - Granada Hills, CA
Can I ask, why after studying for 10 years, you are going with the lap band? Statistically speaking, it is the worse WLS, but even more so for those of us with high BMIs. The boards here are full of people revising from the band b/c of little to no weight loss and complications.

I had the sleeve which works great and allows NSAIDs for things like arthritis and what not.

Congrats on your weight loss so far and good luck to you!

www.sexyskinnybitch.wordpress.com - my journey to sexy skinny bitch status

11/16/12 - Got my Body by Sauceda - arms, Bl/BA, LBL, thigh lift. 

HW 420/ SW 335 /CW 200    85 lbs lost pre-op / 135 post op

~~~~Alison~~~~~

fayhog2001
on 10/17/11 12:40 pm - TX
VSG on 03/21/12 with
WELCOME!!  I live in Little Elm and am using Dr. Nick Nicholson who is located at the Baylor Plano facility.  I visited several seminars and just felt most comfortable with Dr. Nick.  Dr Provost is also very good but you must go with one that you feel you will be most likely to follow-up with regularly (especially with the band).