Thinking of a Revision...VSG to DS

AsuraDunnigan
on 5/17/11 7:51 am - Detroit, MI
Well, I have been very hesitant to write about my wls as it seems I am not living up to my expectations.  I have been really struggling, returned to pre op bad habits.  I don't feel like I have much restriction, in fact I can eat almost as much as before.  I know that a lot of it is me, but I have been unsucessful at my attempts to get to goal...I have even gained weight over the winter.  It seems as if it may not be meant to happen for me.  I was exercising regularly, then I developed dizziness and low blood pressure.  I was riding my exercise bike several times per week, but my tailbone now protrudes and it is very painful.   I was even interested in walking, but my left foot has been hurting for months.  I know that if I want things to change, I am going to have to change it.  I have been calling my surgeon's office for support for several months, but I have not spoken with anyone other than the receptionist.  I just feel like a failure.  My size 16 pants are now tight.  I was hoping to be in a 10 by now.  If anyone has had any similar issues with the vsg please reply.  I am thinking of a revision to the DS.  Tell me what you guys think.
Ticker represents first goal.          
Elizabeth N.
on 5/17/11 8:41 am - Burlington County, NJ
You are not a failure. Living on a very restrictive diet forever is not realistic. Chances are your metabolism is playing against you, as well. This is why we talk about the metabolic changes afforded by the DS and the synergy of the two aspects of a virgine DS as being superior in results.

Others who know more about revision options and how much a DS revision might help you will speak up soon, I'm sure. It's not going to be the same thing as if you'd gotten both the stomach and the intestines changed at the same time, but it should give you some help.

Bonnie R.
on 5/17/11 8:51 am - Stratford, CT