Bad odor due to WLS or ???

Tracie Shelton
on 6/2/12 11:04 am - TX
I am 3 1/2 years post-op. I don't believe I had any odor issues before surgery. In the past few months I have been told (by different people on different days) that I smell like V8, okra, pickles, broccoli.... What is the deal?? This is sooo embarrassing! I can't determine if it is my body or my breath. Is this common?? Is there something I can do?? I bathe every day and brush my teeth at least twice a day! I work in a hospital with patients, so perfume is not an option. I am wondering if it could be because of all the vitamins?? Or is it just a chemical change from the surgery?
He who can't be Named
on 6/2/12 6:12 pm
 I've never heard of anything like that. I know we can get bad breath when we are in a rapid losing phase right after surgery, from ketosis, but you are too far out for that. I know if farts get too horrid, it can also be from an imbalance in the gut that antibiotics can clear up. 

Just a thought - being 3.5 post op, do you have much hanging skin? Ever get infections or raw under the folds? I know yeast type infections can get going under there, and that can smell off.

Do you use a front loading clothes washer? Those can get a bad smell, and impart all your clothes with it until you do a clean out cycle. Just a wild guess, as I'm at a loss as to what it could be.

You know, there are worse things to smell like than veggies.

Some times dingle berries are the lowest hanging fruit.  
Valerie G.
on 6/2/12 10:54 pm - Northwest Mountains, GA
That's a wide range of veggies to be compared to!
I got nothin - but I'd be guessing its something you're eating

Valerie
DS 2005

There is room on this earth for all of God's creatures..
next to the mashed potatoes

Blank Out
on 6/3/12 11:52 am
 Do you use probiotics?  

HW/ 302  SW/287  CW/140  GW/135

Lori F.
on 6/3/12 11:54 am - Chula Vista, CA