Iron in Gummy Form?

Huneypie
on 8/21/12 9:45 am - London, United Kingdom
DS on 07/24/12
Post your results so the vets can give you advice - I'm a novice re labs, so I won't be jumping in ;-)

Lowish BMI? See Lightweights Board! Lightweight Creed For more on DS see www.DSfacts.com
If you don't have peace, it isn't because someone took it from you; you gave it away. You cannot always control what happens to you, but you can control what happens in you John C Maxwell 
View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.comSleeve 2010 Dr López Corvala, Mexico. DS 2012 Dr Himpens, Belgium

I  my DS  

JazzyOne9254
on 8/21/12 8:08 am, edited 8/21/12 8:09 am

Do not...repeat *DO NOT* play games with your nutrition.  If you have kids or grandkids, give them the gummies!  Those were made for children, anyway.

DSer's need heavy duty nutritional supplements from the word go, and for LIFE!  PRESS your doctor for that upper GI...it's not pleasant..I had one early out, because I couldn't eat for sh--, but after they did that, and stretched things out a bit, I was eating like a champ!

I had no major issues until this last six month set of labs, and I know I was screwing up because of a major life event...my Mom's passing.  I have had ongoing calcium issues, but never as many nutrient issues as I have now.

I'm getting back on track, but not without a month's worth of infusions, multivite, calcium and iron...and, because my veins are so small (always have been, has nothing to do with DS) I'll be having a port installed Thursday, so I can get the rest of my infusions.  My veins keep blowing, and that may have to do with PCM (protein calorie malnutrition).

I may have just narrowly avoided a major hospitalization due to malnutrition...my doctor hasn't said it, but I figure any time you get referred to a hematologist for IV treatment, and among your lab diagnoses is the "mal" word, along with several other issues, that's serious.

All DSers on this board...learn from this!