No more oil slicks...is my DS broken?

JazzyOne9254
on 11/17/12 10:05 pm

At nearly 4 years out, I no longer have oil slicks.  Does this mean that my DS is "broken"?

HW 405/SW 397/CW 138/GW 160  Do the research!  Check the stats!
The DS is *THE* solution to Severe Morbid Obesity!

A. C
on 11/17/12 10:25 pm

According to my GI, at some point our bodies will "adapt" to our new configuration.  Some people will take a couple of years some 5 some more than that.   As you know, I'm a newbie, he's helped me so much, calls and checks on me. 

Why don't you try eating some "margarine" rather than butter?  Any margarine or fake butter will create the oil slicks.  It's my understanding that any trans fat will cause the oil slicks.

JazzyOne9254
on 11/18/12 4:37 am

I don't need or want the oil slicks.  Even with me being almost 4 years out, and having experienced them when I first got my surgery, I had been wondering for some time if I should still be seeing them. 

Trust me, I still eat plenty of fat! 

leanmama
on 11/17/12 11:53 pm - St Louis , MO
DS on 03/26/13

WHAT IS AN OIL SLICK?  IS THAT NORMAL FOR POST ? I AM PRE  OP HAD MY VSG 2 YEARS AGO AND PENDING FUNDING FOR DS

A. C
on 11/18/12 1:12 am, edited 11/18/12 2:34 am

It's part of the DS.  It's when you POO and there is oil in the toilet-floating.  It can be really gross depending on what you eat.  It's part of this surgery.  Don't let the dietician in your surgeon's office convince you otherwise.  By reading and learning, for me it happens when I have something eating out (where I'm sure margarine is used) or fast food.  I can count on them then as well as leaking from it so I have to wear pads.  It's all part of the process.  Mine is much better than at first!

JazzyOne9254
on 11/18/12 4:29 am