What would you do?

shamr0ck
on 10/5/11 11:25 pm
Adjustable Gastric Band on 12/20/10
I have lost 46 pounds since my pre-op consultation with my surgeon.  I've gone from a size 18 to a 8/10, depending on the brand and cut of clothes.  I joined a gym exactly 6 weeks after my surgery, and i have been working out religiously for 8 months.  I feel great, and i am looking pretty good.

Here's my dilemma.  The gym i belong to is a small, private training gym.  I love the guys and gals, they are wonderful to work with, and i am grateful every day for the help they've given me. 

Last month, the owner asked if he could use a photo of me in my old jeans in their advertising.  We'd snapped a shot just for fun one day when i was taking a donation to goodwill.  It's the classic "too big jeans, held out at the waist" shot.  I gave him the go-ahead, no problem.

Yesterday he approached me about being in the next commercial they shoot, to show prospective clients results.  And here's where i get stuck.  I have put in the work - i am in there with my trainer 8 hours a week, and the reshaping of my body is due to that work.  But i also have the band.  So if i help advertise for the gym, am i being dishonest about where the results came from?

Or am i letting my stage fright rationalize me into turning down the offer?
Highest weight - 224   Surgery weight - 201   Current weight - 155
Goal - (surgeon) 155; (personal) 138-bodyfat 20%

Kate -True Brit
on 10/6/11 12:28 am - UK
I think it might rebound on the gym. We all know that to look good we bandsters work hard - no easy options! But that is not the outside perception.