fibromyalgia

robinespeland
on 11/8/11 3:44 am - OR
I know that there is a fibromyalgia form on here but it doesn't seem to get much activity. I posted my questions there but decided to post them here just in case any of you might have some ideas for me. Here is a cut and paste of what I put on that forum. Any advise will be helpful.

Hi-

I am new to the fibromyalgia part of this website, but a long time member of the lap band site.I recently found out I have fibromyalgia, but have suspected it for several years. My PC wouldn't really talk about it. So I finally broke down and went to a pain clinic, the probem with this is that the pain clinic want 6 grand to treat me, most, if all won't be covered by insurance. Not gonna' happen.

My most troubling symptoms are headache, lots of times dibelitaing migraine headaches, muscle pain and tiredness. I have been taking Cymbalta (which i know is one of the meds they use for pain with fibro) I also take Gabapentin for my headaches wich really only takes the edge off. My dr. did prescribe muscle relaxers for the muscle pain. They make me even more tired.

I was wondering what other people take to help with their symptoms. I would love to know of some natural stuff that works....

Thanks for your help.

jessielynn0521
on 11/8/11 3:58 am, edited 11/8/11 9:47 am - Ronkonkoma, NY
have your Dr give you a Rx for Metanx (for diabetic neuropathy but works amazing for my fibromyalgia) I take that along with my Neurontin and it helps tremendously.

http://www.metanx.com/

Jean M.
on 11/8/11 4:34 am
Revision on 08/16/12
I was diagnosed with fibromyalgia & myofascial pain syndrome in January 2010. I too went to a pain clinic, but I never went back, not because of the money but because it looked like a pill mill to me. They didn't seem at all interested in finding out what was causing my pain and scheduled me for some kind of spinal injection before even seeing the results of my blood tests and MRI.