The Truly Revolting Vanilla Optifast made edible....

Nerak
on 9/30/13 8:36 am - Canada

I was seriously dismayed with the optifast. Ugh. I bought all vanilla because  A) I like vanilla and B) I thought it would be easy to flavour it! When I actually tasted this stuff I thought I would vomit! Seriously - this is like negative reinforcement....after this, I will eat anything and find it delicious! haha. I tried a few things and got better each day. For example mixing it with a bit of extra water helped. Also, making it very very cold. Finally, my daughter made it with strong decaf coffee, and ice and boy it is a TREAT!!!!

I am so relieved! 

Nerak

Surgery date is Oct. 17th, 2013 in Ottawa. I was referred to the clinic in September 2012. The person performing my surgery is Dr Amy Neville. 

Zizzler
on 9/30/13 8:49 am

Way to go!  If life gives you lemons make lemonade right?  I noticed you are out of Ottawa too -  what was your experience like with them?  I am just starting out and would appreciate any tips or info.  Thank you!

Highest: 320, Surgery: 255 (Aug/14), Lowest: 132, Current: 167, Goal: 155

Life can only be understood backwards; but it must be lived forwards. - Soren Kierkegaard

KarenHope
on 9/30/13 8:53 am
RNY on 04/15/13

Hi Nerak. This is Karen. 

I posted this back in March when I was on Optifast. Hope you find some of it helpful. All the best on your surgery.

http://www.obesityhelp.com/forums/on/4618033/What-I-learned- so-far-on-Optifast-A-bit-long/

PS. Today I had my 6 month post-op appt and have lost 40 kgs/about 90 pounds according to my centre. Before you know it that will be you.

Referral Oct '11 Orientation Ottawa Dec 9 '11 NP June 25 '12 Sleep Clinic July 27 '12 

Tr to Kingston Aug '12  NP/SW/Nut Oct 1 '12 Pre-Op class - Dec 12 '12 Surgeon  Mar 4 '13    Surgery Apr 15 '13     

HW 304 CW 175 GOAL 150  

Nerak
on 9/30/13 9:15 am - Canada

Thanks Karen! (I'm also a Karen but I spelled it backwards for here).