Optifast Question

rny_ivy
on 3/16/19 5:05 am

Hey all,

I'm just starting out Optifast and I had a question about broth. My surgeon has allowed me certain veggies (2 cups max per day) and unlimited 0 calorie beverages like tea, coffee, and broth.

I was able to find 0 cal broth at the store, but it's about double the price of 5 or 10 cal (per cup) broth. Do you think this makes a significant difference? I can definitely afford to buy the more expensive broth, but I just don't like having to spend more money than I have to.

post-op RNY (surgery date: April 5, 2019)

Amy R.
on 3/16/19 6:47 pm

Any variation of your center's instructions should be submitted for review. Personally I wouldn't change even the smallest thing without approval. Be cautious.

Yes, it's only five or ten calories. But getting into the habit of tinkering with the directions you've been given is not a good idea. It's very easy to second guess everything related to this surgery. That's not a pattern for success though.

Get in the habit of following protocol always unless you've been specifically told otherwise. It's so much easier that way!

Good luck and congrats on your upcoming surgery =)

StevesGal
on 3/25/19 1:18 pm - Hamilton, Canada

Hi, rny_ivy:

Just my 2 cents, but make sure you use ALL the Optifast. Consider it a prescription for medicine - which it really is. You need to take it all to ensure a good start to your journey. Even if it tastes awful (I didn't mind it), just plug your nose and get it down you! It's only for a few weeks and you can do it!

Nothing makes me madder than seeing "Optifast For Sale" posts. Like I said, it's a prescription. You wouldn't sell off your arthritis meds, would you? No. You need to fini**** all, just like it's penicillin. (Sorry for being 'preachy' - this just really bothers me.)

Good Luck!!

Beth

Former RNY patient revising to Sleeve then DS.