My journalism journey, part 23

Eileen Briesch
on 9/23/16 5:29 pm - Evansville, IN

I graduated from college as Title IX was being passed, opening up a world of sports to girls. Unless you were extraordinarily gifted, there just wasn't much before. I had little to no athletic ability growing up. I wanted to play softball (the girls' equivalent of my favorite sport, baseball) but I was fat, slow and clumsy. I was allowed to play because I was big and could block the plate. As long as I could do that, I could be the catcher in slow-pitch 16-inch softball; there was no stealing and all I had to do was catch the ball and throw it back to the pitcher.
But once I got to age 16, there was nothing left for me. So I had decided to be a sports writer long before that happened. Unfortunately, at my high school, Mother Guerin, there was only one sport, girls' basketball, so when I got to be sports editor, I had to be very creative in putting out a sports section.
I didn't have that problem once I got my first job on a newspaper. There were plenty of sports for girls. Now, the issue was getting the sports covered.
I made it my job to get those girls' sports in the paper. In Carpentersville and Elgin, Illinois, that wasn't as difficult as I thought it would be. Both Ken Veloskey and Ken Dunwoody were happy to get the girls' sports into the paper, and in fact, the girls' teams in our area were very successful. The Dundee girls' basketball team had gone to the Illinois state tournament the year before.