Insurance approval

zumbawithpatria
on 7/1/19 9:36 am - Portland, OR
Mini Gastric Bypass on 06/24/13

Has anyone had approval from your insurance company to have skin removal surgery on your arms?

If so how? What do u have to say to convince them it's more than cosmetic? I am also a fitness instructor and I'm forced to wear long sleeves however it still shakes bad and my students don't want to see that. And my skin issues has cost me some jobs becuz I dont look the part.

Please help. I can never afford to have them done.

Thx

Laura in Texas
on 7/1/19 12:18 pm

In all my years here, I can only recall 2 or 3 cases where someone got insurance to approve their brachioplasty.

Look into residential plastic surgery programs- they are usually much lower in cost. Cut back on non-essentials like cable and going out to eat. Work on raising your credit score so you can get a loan. Where there is a will there is a way. Good luck!!

Laura in Texas

53 years old; 5'7" tall; HW: 339 (BMI=53); GW: 140 CW: 170 (BMI=27)

RNY: 09-17-08 Dr. Garth Davis

brachioplasty: 12-18-09 Dr. Wainwright; lbl/bl: 06-28-11 Dr. LoMonaco

"May your choices reflect your hopes and not your fears."

zumbawithpatria
on 7/1/19 1:08 pm - Portland, OR

I wi**** was that simple in cutting out. Too many medicals bills for emergency surgeries & female problems and my student loans and im a single mom with no help from a deported baby daddy. So I seriously need help at this point. Another loan (another payment) at this point, no can do. Thats why I am trying to figure out a way for insurance to at least help me. Fitness is not my career but it helps me pay bills and I am limited because of this skin.

Laura in Texas
on 7/5/19 6:01 pm
On July 1, 2019 at 8:08 PM Pacific Time, zumbawithpatria wrote: