Smoothies

astrochick18
on 7/26/11 12:32 am - Archer, FL
Are smoothies okay?

I have been dying for a smoothie and my NUT said they were find. My question is....How much sugar in a FRUIT smoothie is okay?

My NUT said no more than 15g of sugar per meal, but fruit has good sugar in it. Does the 15g rule still apply? If so, there are hardly any smoothies that stay under that limit, even if made with Splenda.

Any suggestions?

BTW, I am talking about smoothies from resturants (Planet Smoothie, Tropical Smoothie Cafe, etc..)

poet_kelly
on 7/26/11 12:40 am - OH
The sugar in fruit bother some people but many tolerate it fine.  Personally, I would avoid smoothies with added sugar.  If the only sugar in them was from fruit, I could drink that.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

gbsinsatx
on 7/26/11 12:53 am - San Antonio, TX

I make my own: 
1 scoop vanilla 100% whey protein powder
1 cup fat free & lactose free milk
1/4 cup no sugar added frozen fruit: blackberries OR blueberries OR cherries OR mango 
OR papaya OR peaches OR 
pineapple
OR red raspberries OR strawberries
1/2 cup crushed ice
1/4 cup water

Age at RNY: 55, Height: 5'4", Consultation Weight: 331 lbs-12/1/2009, RNY Surgery Weight: 281 lbs-3/22/2010, Goal Weight Reached: 141 lbs-6/23/2011, Lowest Weight: 126 lbs-12/11/2011

Current Age: 61, Current Weight: 161 lbs-5/20/2016Total Weight Loss Maintained: 170 lbs  

Jenny_D
on 7/26/11 5:23 am, edited 7/26/11 5:23 am - Canton, GA
I make my smoothies almost the same way, except I use a full cup of frozen berries and don't add ice or water.
Jenny         HW: 268 / SW: 254 / CW: 180 / GW: 140
First 5K: 4.21.2012 - Time: 34:45 - 2nd Place in age group