Who had to do 6 mos Medically Supervised Weight Loss?

Long2bLittle
on 1/13/12 2:25 am - Wayland, MI
DS on 04/17/12
 How many of you that have already had the surgery have had to do the 6 mos of medically supervised weight loss?  My insurance has it as one of their criteria.  I did this for over a year, but its now been a year since I was last in the program, so now I may have to do it again.  Really, kind of bothers me, but if I have to I have to.
poet_kelly
on 1/13/12 2:29 am - OH
Thank goodness, I didn't. 

Check with your insurance to see if you have to do it again.  Maybe they'll take the notes on the old one.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

jc75035
on 1/13/12 2:31 am - TX
My insurance needed 6 nutritionist visits in the previous 24 months and, as I am a diabetic I used my diabetic nutritionist visits.

labmom97
on 1/13/12 2:32 am - Romeoville, IL
I Had to, but an exception was made for me since my insurance was changing to a TERRIBLE insurance at the beginning of the year. And my GP knew I did weigh****chers previous so they talked with my insurance and got the ok to document my old Weigh****chers records (Which were less then a year old) and I had 4 months instead of 6 months to do.  I had to weigh in monthly with my GP and do blood work along with seeing a dietitian and a psych.  When my 4 months was up I got the OK to see the Surgeon who gave me his "packet of things to do" and less then 1.5 weeks later I had my surgery date.    But like I said, I had an issue with insurance and the people who all worked with me we WONDERFUL!!! 
~Jill        
Long2bLittle
on 1/13/12 2:34 am - Wayland, MI
DS on 04/17/12