intense sense of smell

UPSunflower
on 7/17/12 2:32 am
RNY on 06/26/12
Has anyone noticed a change in the sense of smell and sensitivity to odors?

I'm been so sensitive since the surgery and it makes me nauseous. It is especially sensitive to body odors and restroom odors. I seem to have a problem even stomaching the smell of urine let alone any other restroom odors. Whether in my own bathroom or a public restroom I end up dry-heaving at the odors in the room. I never had the problem before?
Every morning is a blessing from God and a day to make like better.
Capt_Kirk
on 7/17/12 2:38 am - WA
RNY on 06/12/12
 Our bodies are so weird... I am super sensitive to smell now... I almost equate it to how blind people are super sensitive to sound.  For the first few weeks pre-op and post-op, our diets are super restricted, and I think that lends it our body to compensate by increasing the sensitivity to smell.

Then again, I'm not a doctor, but it makes sense in my head.
M. B
on 7/17/12 2:38 am
RNY on 07/13/12
I havnt got to experience the lovley side effects of stong smells, i am only 4 days out of surgery.. but the nurses at the hospital and my Dr. seemed to think i would get it eventually so they sent me home with a whole big handful of alcohol preps, and told me at the first whiff, to rip one open and dab it right under my nostrils.. not alot, just enough to clear the smell from my "smell memory hairs in my nose" lol... so i dont know if it works, that was just my tip for dealing with it.
(deactivated member)
on 7/17/12 2:41 am
RNY on 04/18/12
I had a super-sensitve sense of smell for the first several weeks after my surgery.  While that's toned down a bit from when I first had surgery (I'm three months out now) I am still more sensitive than I was pre-surgery.
hedrider
on 7/17/12 2:41 am - Midlothian, TX
 Yup.  Fast food joints smell like rancid grease to me now.

I couldn't stand the smell of my own body sometimes early out.