Calories in maintenance

slrm2m2
on 1/3/13 10:08 am - Canada

Vets, how many calories do you eat to maintain your weight?  How come there seems to be such variation between people?  It seems like some need to eat 1200 while others can eat 2000 or more.  Do you adjust your calorie intake every day based on how active you are?  What are your maintenance secrets and tips...please share.  

Sandy  Surgery Jan.18,2012 with Dr. Timothy Jackson at TWH.

KittenLove
on 1/3/13 10:43 am - Around Knoxville, TN
Mine is based on two things: activity level that day/week And quality of food I choose. I can eat more calories of better quality food and maintain or even lose

No/low activity - 1400 max
Regular cardio/weights - no more than 1700
Running 4x weekly- app 2300

It's a very individual thing - if u find. Magic potion, please share

Be happy. 

Lori P.
on 1/3/13 11:02 am - Kenosha, WI

I am 51 years old and I weigh 130 and have not been terribly consistent with planned exercise (I am a nurse so I do walk a good deal at work and I always take the stairs so I try to move as much as I can) .    I would estimate about 1500 to not gain weight.  Folks that are larger or more active...or younger can eat more.

SW 212 / Goal 130 / Current 130

Cicerogirl, The PhD
Version

on 1/3/13 11:36 am - OH

I am over 5 years out and have never counted calories since surgery.  I haven't tracked my food on a regular basis since I was about 6 months out.... I just track 2 or 3 days about twice a year to check hat my desired protein/carb/fat ratio is where I want it to be (the fact that it tells me how many calories is just an extra, since I don't really at much attention to calories)... But when I do track it, I am around 1400 calories to maintain my weight.  I try to walk and take the stairs when I can,  but have a knee that is being replaced in March so it has made exercise extremely difficult, so I am pretty sedentary overall.