how to eat if you don't track food

slrm2m2
on 3/19/13 1:37 pm - Canada

Just wondering how post-op people, especially those in maintenance, figure out what to eat in a day if they don't plan, track and weigh/measure their food?  I've been asked to stop counting calories by my bariatric centre, but it strikes fear in me since I'm not sure how to decide what to eat.  Its been all about hitting protein targets, keeping a carb/protein/fat/calorie ratio and overall calorie amounts for just over a year now and suddenly, in maintenance, I'm being asked to abandon it all except for maintaining a basic protein intake count.

So non-trackers...tell me how you make your food decisions each day.

Thanks!

Sandy  Surgery Jan.18,2012 with Dr. Timothy Jackson at TWH.

MyLady Heidi
on 3/19/13 2:43 pm

By trade I am an analyst of numbers so I have always kept track in my head everyday since I had surgery.  I put out the food on my plate I know I should/can eat and then stop or eat the portion I know from experience is right if I am out.  It is second nature now, I don't eat until I feel full because that is too late for me by then I feel sick.  It has always worked for me but it might not for everyone.  I keep track of protein, watch carbs and count calories.

poet_kelly
on 3/19/13 4:40 pm - OH

Did you ask them about it, since they made the suggestion?

I track my calories once in a while, just to see where I stand.  I do measure my food, to make sure I don't eat too large of portions.  Basically, I make healthy food choices (most of the time, anyway), eat plenty of foods high in protein, and measure my portions.  As long as I do that, I find things work out OK for me.

What if you just continue to eat the way you've been eating?  If you've been getting enough protein and calories, wouldn't you continue to do so by eating the same way?

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly