diet soda after weight loss surgery

Momma1991
on 9/15/13 7:53 am - Hamilton, NJ
RNY on 04/08/13

i am craving a soda right now (i know bad idea) but I was wondering if anyone has tried a diet soda poured into a cup and stirred around a bit to let some of the carbonation out?? I am 5 months out....  I am craving a soda..... and  know it would have to be diet..... has anyone tried it?

poet_kelly
on 9/15/13 8:00 am - OH

I haven't tried soda stirred around a bit, but I've had diet soda.  The carbonation doesn't bother me.  It causes discomfort (sometimes a lot of discomfort) for some people, and doesn't bother some people at all.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Momma1991
on 9/15/13 8:04 am - Hamilton, NJ
RNY on 04/08/13

Awesome 

I wanna try it to see if it works with me and plus im craving it haha

Cicerogirl, The PhD
Version

on 9/15/13 8:05 am - OH

I did not try any soda until after six months out as suggested by my surgeon.  Some people only wait 2 or 3 months, though.  Lots of people still drink diet soda post-op.  Some people don't because the carbonation makes them uncomfortable, but most people find that pouring it over ice or otherwise minimizing the carbonation a bit is sufficient.  If you decide to try it, try small sips first.

Lora

14 years out; 190 pounds lost, 165 pound loss maintained

You don't drown by falling in the water. You drown by staying there.

Mrs_Stimpy
on 9/15/13 8:40 am
RNY on 12/20/12

I drink one diet soda a day.  I've been told not to, but I still do - and I don't have any bad effects.  I know I'm bad...

Good luck to all of us on our journeys! 

Highest - 222 / Pre-Surgery - 215 / Goal 150

poet_kelly