body lift , Medicare and Medicaid

browneyes65
on 1/5/14 7:45 am - IN

I know I will have a lot of loose skin and I mean a lot with my height and weight so I just wanted to know if Medicare and Medicaid pay for it if it is medically  necessary. I will have rashes everywhere.

poet_kelly
on 1/5/14 7:52 am - OH

They probably will if it's medically necessary.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Cicerogirl, The PhD
Version

on 1/5/14 8:21 am - OH

I would think that they, like most other (non-taxpayer funded) insurance policies will only cover removal of the pannus (the apron of skin on the lower belly), not a full body lift. I cannot imagine having enough skin all the way around your body to have enough trouble with rashes such that a full body lift would be medically necessary.  I have never heard of that, anyway.  

Even my insurance covered ony the panniculecmy, and didn't cover an arm lift despite medical records and photographic evidence that I was nicking the skin in my armpit when shaving all that extra, crepe-like skim, and the nicks were occasionally getting infected (in addition to rashes in the arm pit).

Lora

14 years out; 190 pounds lost, 165 pound loss maintained

You don't drown by falling in the water. You drown by staying there.

browneyes65
on 1/5/14 10:51 am - IN

I will have a lot of skin because I'm 4'11 and 275lbs. Some people are taller so that helps. I will have to do some research in Indiana. Thanks

Cicerogirl, The PhD
Version

on 1/5/14 10:52 am - OH

I am under 5'4" and was over 330 pounds.

14 years out; 190 pounds lost, 165 pound loss maintained

You don't drown by falling in the water. You drown by staying there.

browneyes65