Yogurt HELP! Too much SUGAR!

melissa_musicjunkie
on 1/12/14 1:23 am
RNY on 08/01/13

So, I've been eating the Chobani 0% Greek Yogurt for awhile...why the heck did I not realize that the amount of sugar in it is way too much?!? Maybe the "All Natural" on the label. Ugh!! Anyway, can someone help me with a good low-sugar brand? I really like yogurt and the 14+ grams of protein really helps me reach my protein goals. I just cannot keep doing that much sugar!

Melissa - RNY 8/1/13 :)

poet_kelly
on 1/12/14 1:28 am - OH

I use plain Greek yogurt and then flavor it however I like.  The only sugar in it is the lactose in the milk.  If you want flavored yogurt, though, Carbmaster at Kroger is low in sugar.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

QoftheU
on 1/12/14 2:04 am - Bay Area/Silicon Valley, CA
Revision on 12/18/13
Hey Kelly - what do you flavor it with? I just realized the same thing - after I bought 8 of them. And seeing as I've lost 2 pounds in about 12 days I'm obviously doing something wrong.

Leslie - Band Revision to RNY - best thing ever!   HW: 234   SW: 222  CW: Ticker  GW: 130

poet_kelly
on 1/12/14 2:08 am - OH

Different things.

Sugar free syrups, like the kind you can put in protein shakes.  Sometimes I use raspberry syrup and than add some fresh or frozen raspberries, or peach syrup and then add some diced canned peaches.

Sugar free pudding mix.  If you mix in cheesecake flavored pudding mix, it really tastes like cheesecake.  I like to top that with no sugar added cherry pie filling.  Or, the other day I mixed in banana flavored pudding mix and then added some chopped walnuts and chocolate chips.  Tasted like Ben and Jerry's Chunky Monkey ice cream.