Questions for Long Term RNYers....

Karen H.
on 9/7/14 7:32 am
VSG on 12/08/14

I am still new at this, pre op, 57 years old female with 110 lbs to lose, osteoarthritis in knees, ankles, back... 

1. What do you take for arthritis pain or bad headaches or sinus problems besides Tylenol? And does it work?

2. I have very thick hair.... will I lose a lot of hair?

3. Do you get hungry?

4. How often do you eat?

5. Do you get constipated? If so,how do you resolve it?

6. Will food taste the same after surgery? Do you still enjoy flavors?

7. I'm a teacher, how long do you expect me to be home after surgery?

8. What should I expect the first few days after surgery as to how I will feel?

poet_kelly
on 9/7/14 8:25 am - OH

1.  Other than Tylenol, I take Tramadol or Vicodin, if I can get someone to prescribe it.  Otherwise, I just suffer.

2.  Hard to say.  You might, you might not.

3.  Yes, I get hungry.

4.  I eat about every three hours.

5.  Yep.  Daily Miralax.

6.  Hard to say.  Many people find things taste odd for a while.  Right after surgery, things tasted super sweet to me.  Like, sugar free pudding was so sweet I couldn't stand it.  But after a while, things started to taste normal again.

7.  Most people seem to take off two to four weeks, as long as they have no complications.

8.  It really seems to vary from person to person.  Some people say they have very little pain and just take Tylenol after coming home from the hospital, others say they have severe pain and take prescription pain meds for a couple of weeks.  Some people have a lot of nausea and others have none. 

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Karen H.
on 9/7/14 8:35 am
VSG on 12/08/14