Newbie here! Three days before surgery!

nightMER
on 3/3/17 12:36 pm
RNY on 03/06/17

hello all -

i'm new to this site as of today and i'm hoping that this will be another support system through this journey i'm on! RNY is Monday at 7am and i've lost about a pound a day on my two week pre-op diet, which is encouraging.

would love your perspective on what to expect the first week after surgery......

suggestions of packing for the hospital stay?

worst part of the surgery before you went home?

were you hungry the first week out while you are on liquids only?

pain levels post surgery?

immediate exercise (walking) - how long per day is too much?

anything advice for week one?

Thanks!

Meredith

Achappe1
on 3/3/17 1:03 pm
RNY on 03/01/17

Hello! And congrats ?

I had my surgery on Wednesday (the 1st) and as of tomorrow I will be moving on to full liquids which will include yogurt, creamed soups, etc. I was also told to drink 1/2 to 1 full protein shake a day.

the hospital stay, to me, was super easy. I went on at 7 and was released the very next day at 10:30 or so. Being I. The hospital was fine. I was up and walking within a few hours after surgery and the nurses as well as my surgeon were extremely impressed. The pain didn't get bad until being at home. The gas pain, at times, have been absolutely unbearable. I have been using a heating pad constantly and walking around every few hours. Sipping liquids as well to make sure I stay in top of things. Before surgery getting 32+ ounces of fluids were so easy... now not so much. But I have an alarm set to go off every 15 mins unless I'm sleeping.

I brought the clothes I had on, a robe, slippers, and toothpaste w/ tooth paste. I literally wore the hospital gown the entire time, and went home in the same clothes I came in. I brought my computer with me and would play a show that kept me happy while in recovery mode.