Nioxin or the off brand

Meginsf
on 4/7/11 6:28 am - WA
So im wondering if the off brand of nioxin works just as well? I read the other night that theres accually an off brand for nioxin witch i didnt know before. Does anyone have any experience with it??
  Starting weight 320 weight a preop 300 Current weight 198 goal weight 160  
Lilypie Maternity tickers
USAF Wife
on 4/7/11 6:31 am
Most of the ladies that have used it all reported all it did was dry out there hair, increased breakage and didn't help with regrowth. Some used the name brand, others used the generic. I have zero personal experience, but after 2 years of floating around here, I've never read one positive review of this stuff for hair loss after WLS.
Band to VSG revision: June 3, 2009
SW 270lbs GW 150lbs CW Losing Pregancy Weight Maintenance goal W 125-130lbs

MN_Mama
on 4/7/11 7:08 am
I was told to take Biotin.  Does that help?
USAF Wife
on 4/7/11 7:40 am
It can help with regrowth, but you're going to experience hair loss nothing can prevent it. It's inevitable for most of us.

I lost half of my hair by volume, and it's since has grown back. It started falling out around 3.5 months post-op and last 3 months.

No amount of protein, snake oils, potions, shampoos, lotions, vitamins, anything will stop the shedding.

Here's a couple of articles on it:

http://www.obesityhelp.com/forums/vsg/4347455/Hair-Loss-in-Weight-Loss-Surgery-Patients/

http://www.aocd.org/skin/dermatologic_diseases/telogen_effluvium.html
Band to VSG revision: June 3, 2009
SW 270lbs GW 150lbs CW Losing Pregancy Weight Maintenance goal W 125-130lbs

MN_Mama
on 4/7/11 9:53 am
Thanks.  Good article, but heck on a stick!!  I already have very fine hair, and not very dense.  I just hope I don't go bald faster than my Husband!  :)
heathermc44
on 4/7/11 7:30 am - Bremerton, WA