Question for Self Payers

Sherry T.
on 4/17/11 8:27 am
Hello Everyone,
I am a newbie on here but I have been reading the VSG board for a while now. Thank You in advance to the OH community for any input that you can give me.  I am in the early stages of this whole process, but just recently decided that the sleeve is the thing for me.  I have done some research with my insurance carrier and it seems that they do not cover any type of WLS surgery, so I will be a self pay.  I am prepared.... with HELP....to cover the cost of surgery, but if there are any complications during surgery or during the recovery period that may require a longer hospital stay or another surgery, I would struggle with this scenario.  My question to other self pay sleevers, Did you have other options from anyone to buy an insurance policy that would cover just the complications from this surgery?   If so from whom? 
shrinkydink1
on 4/17/11 8:51 am
I was self pay and did not have another policy. I am happy to say that I had the most uneventful surgery and recovery!! You just have to weigh the odds and figure out what you can live with, for me the weight was a bigger risk than the surgery!!
~K~            
Carmelita
on 4/17/11 8:55 am, edited 4/17/11 8:57 am - Four Corners, NM

YOUR sure there's an exclusion to VSG on your policy, you saw that word there ....not what you were told right! Ive seen peeps here look into BLIS I don't know anything about that insurance tho..

I self paid for my surgery, while it was in the APPEAL process. I had my surgery in SoCal.
My surgeon told me IF there were any complications from surgery he would discharge me ON PAPER

Re-Admit me with the diagnosis "leak" or whatever...and my insurance would cover it. What a relief!

If ya head out to Mexico for VSG...SAME THING..altho the insurance co. will may tell ya, they won't cover yer complications once yer back in the U.S. ...they ALWAYS wind up payin the bills sooner or later!...that's why you pay them every month!