My NUT is really encouraging RNY?!?!

ready2Bhealthy2
on 6/20/11 7:23 am
My NUT didn't say that I needed to make a decision today, but she was really batting for RNY.  Her biggest reason was the lack of long term studies of the sleeve.  RNY has the long term data whereas NSG doesn't.  She made me think a lot today and in the end I'm confused.  Please offer some/any advice.  Thanks.
HW286/SW269/1mo-20lbs/2 mo-9lbs/3 mo-10lbs

1st Goal - Loss of 50lbs
Hollyhock
on 6/20/11 7:31 am - VA
I would note that your nut is not a doctor. I fail to see why her opinion should have any bearing on a MEDICAL decision, and honestly I don't think she's within her professional bounds to opine on this. She shouldn't be "battling" for anything. Further, there is increasing evidence about the sleeve and its longer term success. I question her expertise and judgement all the more since she's not up on the latest research and has the hubris to try to tell you what to do. If I was a surgeon and she worked for me, I'd show her the door.
5'7"  VSG on 6/6/2011  HW 224, SW 214, CW 144  
lucy2e
on 6/20/11 7:48 am - Laurel, MD
If you are a sweets eater/drinker who is unable to cut those from your diet - then maybe she'd be right.  But if you have been able to switch to 10 cal or less beverages and reduce your carbs, then I think you should go with your initial decision.  If you still are pulled, call your surgeon - he's the expert (not the nut.)

Lucy  (Imma Loser!)
  LilySlim Weight loss tickers                  
HW 335 SW 311 CW 181.2 -- Goals:  Twoderville - 6/7/11, 280 - 7/1/11, 260 - 8/1/11, 240 - 10/30/11 Centry Club - 11/22/11, 220 - 12/27/11 Onederland - 5/25/12, 180 - , 170 (surgeons goal) -  
We shall see where this leads...  

LittleMissSunshine
on 6/20/11 8:15 am
Yeah, the RNY has more long-term data... some of it showing that people regain and are hungry all the time due to hypoglycemia