how much pain is normal 11 days out?

ThinByThirty
on 8/6/11 11:58 am - NY
hi

i had surgery 11 days ago and i have one incision that is still killing me.  it makes it hard to sit for a long time, if i lay down its easier.

it basially makes my entire right side of my stomach have a dull ache.  i have to say that it is better, but i am wondering if i should be better off overall.  i know some people mentioned going back to work after 2 weeks.  i can barely sit up for an hour.

i went to the doctor yesterday and mentioned it and he is kinda an a-hole and just dismissed it (he checked the incisions and seemed unphased.)

i was so frustrated after the appointment that i cried.  the problem is that i am a medical student and he is a professor at the medical school that i go to, so i don't want to complain to much because he may oversee me someday....

any advice?  thanks

emelar
on 8/6/11 12:35 pm - TX
It's probably the incision they pulled your stomach through.  So it was cut larger than the others and has some internal sutures and, yes, it aches more than the others.  It's not unusual to be achy and in pain (within reason) 11 days out.  I can assure you, I couldn't have gone back to work at 2 weeks.  3 weeks...maybe.  But I stayed out 4 weeks and went back to work feeling completely normal.
mythreechildren2001
on 8/6/11 12:38 pm
I'm almost 4 weeks out, and I still have trouble with my largest incision every now and then.  I was definitely still hurting at 11 days out.  If you're like me, you'll notice an improvement soon.  I would go a couple of days without pain at all...try and do too much and then it would hurt really bad for one day and then be better the next.  I had one of those days yesterday, and today I am great.  I was not expecting that little incision to hurt as bad for as long as it did.  I had a c-section and didn't have as much trouble with it as I did that one little incision.

50 y/o female 5'6" HW 283 current 160 goal 150

ThinByThirty