Challenging Insurance requirements?

nursemichele613
on 1/17/12 1:01 pm - MI
VSG on 04/22/12
Hi Everyone!

Not sleeved yet...but have made the decision to start the process. I have BCBS PPO (Michigan) I do believe they have a requirement of a consecutive 6 months of diet supervision through your PCP that has to be documented.
    Has anyone challenged this and was able to forego this requirement? I feel this is a ridiculous requirement. I am 47 years old and have been overweight my ENTIRE adult life and have lost and gained pounds over and over again! I have been on diets supervised and otherwise...I am an educated healthcare professional and I KNOW the drill! If I believed I could do this without the surgery...I would! 
    I am currently residing in China (husband's job) and all my new insurance info was shipped to my house in Michigan. Just from reading the boards here , it sounds like this is a requirement but I have not read if anyone has challenged it and won...if there is ...can you let me know any inside info on what you did to help accomplish this goal? Also, I do believe I have a hiatal hernia (been acting up a bit) and I head back home at the end of February and plan on getting it checked out. If I need surgery, will insurance cover both at the same time instead of two seperate procedures?? It would probably save quite a bit of money and recuperation time (for me!).
   Thanks for any info or insight you folks can provide...it is much appreciated! I love this site, it is so full of valuable information!!!         

moonglo82
on 1/17/12 1:10 pm
VSG on 03/29/12
You may want to call your insurance company and get more information before you make any assumptions. Also, could your doctor document that you have already been trying to lose weight for more than 6 months, like you say? I don't know how that works, because I'm self pay.

Good luck!

Highest weight: 277 Starting Weight: 250  Surgery Weight: 241  Current Weight: 130

Goal Reached in 10.5 months :)