Did I Just Screw Up (A Note on Control)

rhearob
on 4/3/12 12:24 am - TN
I am an Engineer.  I have always believed, both professionally and emotionally, that if I can measure it I can control it.  With the exception of my weight, I have been pretty successful at imposing my will on the world around me to achieve my goals.

I have taken that approach to my weight loss.  I weigh every day (at the recommendation of my surgeon and NUT).  I measure my blood sugar every day.  I note every everything I eat in my food diary.  I keep track of my exercise, so on and so forth.  Well what is an engineer, going to do with a butt load of data - analyze it of course.

As an  enginner - my thoughts are always on how can I optimize the solution.  How do I configure the inputs of a system, the mechanics, to get the most effifient output.  I want to lose the most weight I can in the fastest way possible - the body is just a biochemical machine, I should be able to figure out an algorithm, right?

Some of you have seen my other posts.  I have been irritated, as we all are sometimes, at the variability in my weight loss.  The stalls, the stair stepping, the small gains.  These are things that need to be optimized out.  I want that straight line with a slope of -0.8 lbs/day that I had in month 1.

My spouse pointed that I seem to have the biggest losses on days that Katy Perry played while I was in the shower.  Is that they key to rapid weight loss - Teenage pop music?  Did I screw up by not having Katy Perry play in the shower this morning?  Would I lose more if I played broadway show tune?  Would I lose less if it was Snoop Dogg?