Twunderland...and so grateful!! (Shameless self-disclosure...)

dr_spatula
on 8/9/12 12:48 pm
VSG on 07/27/12
It is both awesome and frightening for me that I had the VSG not even 2 weeks ago...and I hope never to see 300 lbs again on my scale! I am now in the 200s....something I've not seen since 2004. For me, the awesome part is that already I'm seeing changes...wearing cute cropped jeans I couldn't even fit in when I bought them 3 months ago...bounding up the stairs after my kid...seeing my (slightly) pared-down self in the mirror...18 lbs since surgery! And...that so far today I've had about 360 calories and I'm not hungry at all (with 57 g of protein so far!). This is the same person who could delve into a bowl of tortilla chips and salsa, and then eat a huge Mexican dinner, while making sure to get a dish that served both refried beans and rice, not just one side. (Ugh.)

The frightening part is just my own fear of self-defeating behaviors. I have been an expert in self-sabotage when it comes to food and dieting...I call it the "f--- it phenomenon." That is, I would eat healthfully during the day and blow it on a big dinner, or dessert, or both! Or, I'd drink a huge iced coffee (SF, of course!) while eating a donut or two for breakfast...starve myself until 3 p.m. or so, and then have a big late lunch because I didn't care about metabolism or portion control. Having the sleeve helps me to know that self-sabotage is less likely (especially as I'm still in the full liquid phase) because I truly cannot have those types of foods now, and it actually sickens me right now to even think of having them at all.