6 Months Post-Op and Diarrhea from last 4 days, i have lost 6 lbs in 4 days

zacknaser16
on 4/21/13 3:11 am

Hi All,

I have severe diarrhea since last 4 days, i think i ate something to triger it, cant even seem to retain water i m drinking. Just took some yougurt in last few days.

My Intestines are making weird grumbling noises, waterfall like noises, im too confused, My doc said just take a immodium and drink plenty of water , im drinking but after few mins i have to rush to bathroom, is it a bug do i need Antibiotic or it has to do something with VSG.

Please help.

Calking
on 4/21/13 8:09 am
VSG on 05/31/12

First of all I am not a doctor so take my thoughts for what they are worth.  The fact that you are 6 months post op I seriously doubt that you can find fault or issue with something having to do with the VSG.  I would be more inclined to thing about a stomach virus as the culprit.  

You mentioned that you think you ate something to trigger this.  What is it that you think might have been the cause?  I am not sure that anything that you would eat could be causing a 4 day issue therefore again I am likely to point to a stomach flu/virus thing.  

Of course the most serious issue is dehydration.  I like that your doc has advised plenty of water.  I would actually be thinking along the lines of Poweraid Zero.  I like this idea as it will help with dehydration by adding in some electrolytes.  You mentioned drinking water is triggering a rush to the bathroom.  I am wondering if playing with the temperature of what you are drinking might help somewhat.  I actually tend to drink the Poweraid Zero at room temperature and find that it isn't really that bad.  I do like the mixed berry flavor the best but to each his/her own on that.