Exercise vs. Food Intake

Donnab62
on 5/24/13 8:19 am
VSG on 04/29/13

What is the ratio between calories and calories burned through exercise before your body goes into starvation mode? How do you know when you have exercised to much for the amount of calories you have eaten for the day so that you don't stop loosing weight? When I went to the diet clinic and didn't loose weight she would say you over exercised but never really explained herself. She said that the over exercising put my body into starvation mode. I'm confused! Help please!

Donna

Debra M.
on 5/24/13 9:03 am - TX
VSG on 03/26/13
I am not a doctor, but looking at the date of your VSG I would think you are just in a stall. Stalls are normal and necessary for your body. Keep exercising.
(deactivated member)
on 5/24/13 10:59 am

I'm going to go out on a limb here, so take what I say or leave it. It's up to you. There are many who agree with what I'm about to write and others who vehemently disagree. Here goes:

Starvation Mode in modern American dieting is a myth. It doesn't actually exist in the sense that nutritionists use it. Starvation is an extreme state brought on by prolonged lack of food to nourish the body. When one is truly starving the body has to resort to cannibalizing itself just to sustain basic body functions. Think of concentration camp victims. That's what a true starvation mode is.