what to expect at support groups?

jess252590
on 6/25/13 5:59 am - PA
VSG on 11/20/13

Hi I'm  jessica

I've checked these forums everyday for the past 6 months but this is my first time posting. I'm almost done with my checklist the surgeon  gave me, I just need to attend one of Penn's monthly support groups which is today. I plan on going but am a little nervous because I'm a shy person. Can anyone tell me what to expect? Is it like AA where I have to stand up and tell my story?? Info about me- I'm 20 and weigh 240.  

cappy11448
on 6/25/13 6:10 am

Hi Jessica,

Welcome to the forum. 

I suspect support groups vary quite a bit.  The one I attend, we start by going around and introducing ourselves and say where we are in the WLS process.  Then they usually open the discussion by asking new people if they have any questions for the vets in the group.  Then the discussion proceeds to whatever is of interest/concern for the group. 

Our group is very warm and welcoming.  People understand the many feelings that go with making this decision, and want to support each other.  I don't think you have anything to be concerned about.

best wishes,

Carol

Surgery May 1, 2013. Starting Weight 385,  Surgery Weight 333,  Current Weight 160.  At GOAL!

Weight loss Pre-op 1-20 2-17 3-15 Post-op 1-20 2-18 3-15 4-14 5-16 6-11 7-12  8-8

9-11 10-7 11-7 12-7 13-8 14-6 15-3 16-7 17-3  18-3

thinathart
on 6/25/13 6:24 am

The sessions I attended, we just said our names, which type of WLS we were having and where we were in the process.  I'm pretty shy too, and it was easy peasy.  People there are all in the same boat...all wanting a better, healthier life.  Best of luck to you!

Jackie T.
on 6/25/13 6:45 am - KS
VSG on 12/19/12