basic newbie questions

dancermom2_7
on 1/20/14 4:05 am - OH

I am new here.. posted an introduction http://www.obesityhelp.com/forums/vsg/4774801/Introductions/

but have some questions.. I have read a lot of posts, and am so glad I have a place to come and ask questions or get info. I am 254 right now. I do NOT own a scale.... should I get one? I see a lot of people weigh in daily? There cant be that much change in a day? I don't want to obsess over that. I have enough to worry about.. and I don't need to see a magic number on the scale.. i just want to be leaner and healthier. I want to tie my shoes, and run a few miles. Thoughts?

What does it feel like after surgery? How much pain are you in? I have a desk job, i sit ALL day 10hrs a day, how quickly will i FEEL like going back to work, the Dr said 2-6 weeks( I am also an EMT, i wont return to that job until 6 weeks due to heavy lifting.)

I have this thing.. I chew gum all the time.. after surgery I am assuming that is going to be a big no no.. I think i remember them saying it wasn't safe in my initial visit. What are your thoughts or opinions on this? If I chew gum, I don't feel as hungry.

I am so afraid this isnt going to work. The Dr recommended the sleeve, something to do with me having celiac? Anyone know why this would be? I also had a hyster, and an appendectomy, and my gallbladder out as well.

I am also wondering can i ever resume a "normal" eating life again? Will I always have to "diet"?

One last question... is there any way to search for others who have had surgery with my Dr?

Thanks for any answers or input I do value it all!

Have a great day!!

Stephania

HW 276 GW140  CW248

civilmomma
on 1/20/14 4:49 am
VSG on 03/07/14

I'm not sleeved yet, so I don't have answers for most of your questions...but,