3 weeks out and still feeling yucky...

wyo_sarah
on 8/18/14 7:33 am

I'm three weeks out from my surgery tomorrow and I still feel really yucky.  I'm nauseated a lot, I'm very weak, and very tired.  I'm a teacher and was back with students today and it was very difficult.  I had to stand and interpret (I teach deaf students) an assembly for about a half hour and I was really afraid I was going to have to stop and sit down.  I'm getting about 60 oz of water a day and 60-80 grams of protein.  My only thought is maybe I'm not getting enough calories or perhaps I'm not getting my protein frequently enough.  I had a 30 gram shake that I sipped on most of the morning and then some refried beans for lunch (only 5 grams).  I'm hoping to get some yogurt in for dinner and then another shake before bed.  I'm averaging about 400-600 calories a day.  Does anyone have any suggestions?  At this point I feel so terrible I'm thinking I made a horrible decision.

LSophia
on 8/18/14 7:41 am

Are you walking regularly? I am trying to build stamina in preparation for work by going on several walks a day because I am a nurse and will be on my feet all day once I go back to work. I find that I feel much better both energy wise and with my GI track if I get my walks in. 

wyo_sarah
on 8/18/14 7:59 am

Really, I don't have the energy to do much walking.  I'm walking for work, around the school, at my other business, at the grocery store, etc. but I don't go for walks per se.  But, also, I live out in the country and so there isn't really anywhere to walk...I can't walk on the road, it isn't safe.  And I can't go somewhere just to walk because I have businesses to take care of, two children, animals, etc.  My doc said to start exercising at 6 weeks out so I'm hoping to start swimming in the mornings, but at this point, I know I don't have the energy to.  I'm so weak I struggle to take a shower.  It is awful.

Amy M.
on 8/18/14 7:43 am - Grand Island, NY
VSG on 07/30/14